Databases

You are here

The support of the Government of Ontario through the Ministry of Tourism, Culture and Sport is gratefully acknowledged.

When accessing eResources from home, the resources marked with an asterisk (*) require a valid Thorold Public Library card number or a Username and Password which is available on the link.

eBooks & Audiobooks on EBSCOhost

Books & Audiobooks on EBSCOhost provides access to digital versions of books, journals, and database content. You can access this eContent 24 hours a days, seven days a week. Note: To access these ebooks from home, please use the following Username and Password:

Username: thorold2 Password: thorold

Audiobooks Home
eBooks Home
eBooks & Audiobooks Help

Overdrive

With Overdrive, your library never closes! Browse, checkout, and download best-selling and classic audio books and e-books. The "Virtual Branch" is available any time of day from anywhere in the world. *

 

Information

Britannica Library Edition

Whether it’s frogs or physics, gardening or geography, Britannica Library Edition covers it all. Extensive and thorough yet intuitive and fast, this powerful collection delivers trustworthy information you need.

Note: To access this from home, please click here

Britannica Image Quest

Provides more than two million high-quality images that can be downloaded, printed, saved, shared or emailed. All images are rights-cleared for any educational use.

Note: To access this from home, please click here

Canadian Points of View *

Designed to assist researchers in understanding the full scope of controversial subjects.

CPI.Q (Canadian Periodical Index)

A wealth of Canadian and international periodicals.

Computer Database

For researchers who need to keep pace with the fast changing world of high technology.

Expanded Academic ASAP

Includes a total of nearly 10,200 titles including 300 journals and 5 newspaper indexes with more than 25 years of back file coverage from 1980 to present.

Gale Cengage Legal Trac

Provides indexing for approximately 1, 400 titles including major law reviews, legal newspapers and more.

Gale Virtual Reference Library

A database of encyclopedias, almanacs and specialized reference sources for multi disciplinary research.

General Reference Centre Gold

This comprehensive reference database delivers the answers to a wide variety of reference questions.

Grzimek's Animal Life

Provides students and researches with a dynamic, interactive resource including articles and images.

InfoTrac Junior

Designed for hunior high and middle school students featuring titles critical to their curriculum. Answers to all of their general reference questions.

InfoTrac OneFile

Provides access to a number of periodicals and news content from a variety of mainstream sources.

InfoTrac Religion & Philosophy

This comprehensive reference databse delivers answers to a wide variety of reference questions as it relates to religion and philosophy.

InfoTrac Student

Provides secondary school students a quick and easy way to do classroom assignments and get answers to general reference questions

Kids InfoBits

Targets the research needs of students in kindergarten through Grade 5. It features a developmentally appropriate and visual graphic interface.

Literature Resource Centre

Find up-to-date biographical information, literary criticism & reviews on more than 130,000 wriers in all disciplines from all periods.

Military and Intelligence Database

Delivers answers for both the novice and the experienced researcher on all aspects of the past and current state of military affairs.

National Newspaper Index

Quick access to the indexing of America's top five newspapers.

Pebble Go*

To access Pebble Go from home, please use the following Username and Password:
Username: sopl656 Password: school

The award winning Pre K-3 databases for reading and research, introduces Earth and Space concepts to early readers.

 

Home & Self Help

Ancestry Library Edition

Ancestry Library Edition may only be accessed in the Library at any public access terminal.
Canada's leading family history website, offers members access to 128 million searchable Canadian family history records.

 

Career Cruising *

A fully Bilingual database which has been designed to help students and others plan their future. Build a resume, job search and more.

Chilton Library

Authoritative automotive repair information available to car owners with thousands of year, make and model combinations.

Health & Wellness

Consumer Health Information - Fr *

Provides articles about common medical conditions and procedures in an easy-to-understand manner. French Version.

Consumer Health Complete

Designed for the everyday consumer of easily understandable health hand medical care information.

Psychological Disorders (eBooks) *

To access these eBooks from home, please use the following Username and Password:
Username: thorold
Password: library

Explores today's most common psychological disorders by examining their symnptoms, causes and effects.

Teen Health & Wellness

Provides middle and high school students with curricular support and self-help topics on diseasee, drugs, alcohol and much more.

Books & Reading

AudioBook Cloud

An online collection of read-along titles for elementary, middle school and high school students.

NoveList *

A comprehensive readers' advisory solution for fiction lovers. NoveList will help you to answer the question of what to read next.

NoveList K-8

Your solution for integrating fiction across the curriculum. This will be the resource you and your young readers turn to when looking for the next book to read.

NoveList French Interface *

A comprehensive readers' advisory solution for fiction lovers. NoveList will help you to answer the question of what to read next. French Version.

Tumble Books

A collection of fiction, non-fiction, foreign language titles, read along audio books, puzzles and games.

Tumble Readables

A collection of read-along titles in catagories such as Early Readers, Chapter books, Teen Fiction and many more.

Science & Technology

To access these eBooks from home, please use the following Username and Password:
Username: thorold
Password: library

Energy & Environment (eBooks) *

Provides a comprehensive examination of the history, technology, science, environmental and social implication with the production of energy.

Frontiers of Science (eBooks) *

Exploring topics at the forefront of research, this set focuses on the methods and imagination of people who push the boundaries of science.

Science Foundations (eBooks) *

Explores the many methods scientists use to understand our world and universe.